A new Broadcasting Complaints Commission has been appointed by the Minister for Communications, Marine and Natural Resources, Noel Dempsey.

The Commission is responsible for dealing with all broadcasting complaints concerning radio and television broadcasters licensed within the Republic of Ireland.

Its task is to consider and adjudicate upon complaints about material broadcast - both programmes and advertisements - in relation to impartiality in news and current affairs, taste and decency, law and order, privacy of an individual, slander, codes of standards, practice and prohibition in advertising and other forms of commercial promotion in broadcasting services.

The members of the new Commission are Chairman Michael McGrath, Sean O'Sullivan, Eucharia Meehan, David Main, David Tighe, Miriam O'Callaghan, Joe Brady, Susan Nolan and Phil Brady.

The new Commission has been appointed for a five-year term.