The new Tánaiste and a new Cabinet minister are set to be named tomorrow by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar.

There is speculation that either Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney or Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Heather Humphreys could be appointed as Frances Fitzgerald's successor.

Other contenders include Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe and Minister for Education Richard Bruton.

It is likely the announcement will be made by the Taoiseach in the Dáil sometime tomorrow.

The new appointees will then make their way to Áras an Uachtaráin to collect their seals of office.

The Cabinet vacancy, created by the resignation of Ms Fitzgerald, will also see either a minister of state or a backbench TD promoted.

Names linked to that vacancy include junior ministers John Paul Phelan, Michael D'Arcy and Patrick O'Donovan.

It is understood that all options are on the table, even including the possibility of a first-time backbench TD being elevated to Cabinet.

This raises the possibility that either Dublin Rathdown TD Josepha Madigan or Galway West TD Hildegarde Naughton could be promoted.