Fine Gael has selected four candidates to contest the next general election in the Galway West constituency.

Outgoing TDs Sean Kyne and Brian Walsh will be joined on the ticket by Mayo TD John O'Mahony and Senator Hildegarde Naughton. 

Mr O'Mahony is switching to the expanded Galway West, after a chunk of the old Mayo constituency was included in it following boundary revisions.

Some 10,000 votes from electoral areas around Ballinrobe will be added to the constituency, which remains a five-seater.

The four candidates were the only party members to seek nomination at the convention in Galway tonight. 

Fine Gael won two seats in Galway West for the first time in almost 30 years at the last election.

The party is hopeful it can hold both seats in what will be a crowded field next time round.