The Government has announced a number of serving judges of the High Court as Judges designate of the Court of Appeal. 

They are: Mr Justice George Birmingham, Ms Justice Mary Finlay Geoghegan, Mr Justice Gerard Hogan, Ms Justice Mary Irvine,
Mr Justice Peter Kelly, and Mr Justice Michael Peart.

The Court of Appeal Bill was signed into law by President Higgins on Sunday.

It provides that the new Court of Appeal is to be constituted of a President and up to nine ordinary judges.

As with the announcement of the Hon. Mr. Justice Seán Ryan as President Designate of the Court of Appeal on the 25 February 2014, formal nominations for appointment to the Court of Appeal will take place once the Court has been established. 

Arrangements will then be made for the formal appointment of the President as well as these six judges to the Court of Appeal by President Higgins.