A group of Independent councillors in Dublin have said they will not be supporting the Sinn Féin-led alliance on the city council.

Sinn Féin came to an agreement with Labour, the Greens and Independents to form the Dublin City Alliance, holding a majority of seats on the council.

But today four Independents – Councillors Paul Hand, Teresa Keegan, Damian O'Farrell and Cieran Perry - have issued a statement saying they will not be supporting the alliance

In the statement the four councillors said they do not believe they have a mandate to support any of the parties implementing austerity.

Head of the Independents grouping Vincent Jackson said he had an agreement with 11 of the 12 Independent Councillors for the election of the Lord Mayor and other appointments.

"Some said they would have difficulties with the estimates and I have no problem with that," he said.

The announcement by the four councillors leaves the Dublin City Alliance with 36 seats - four more than is required to hold a majority.

The next meeting of the council is on 23 June when appointments to committees and outside bodies are due to be agreed.