The final list of candidates for the European Parliament constituencies in Ireland and the constituency of Northern Ireland has been announced.

In total, 41 candidates will be vying for 11 seats spread across three constituencies in Ireland.

Twelve candidates are contesting the three-seat Dublin constituency consisting of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown; Fingal and South Dublin; and the city of Dublin.

Fourteen candidates go before the electorate in the four-seat Midlands-North-West constituency which consists of Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Laois, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath.

Fifteen will contest the four-seat South constituency which includes Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow.

Finally, 11 candidates will contest the three seats up for grabs in Northern Ireland.

Ireland has had its number of seats reduced from 12 to 11.

A number of countries had the number of seats reduced in order to accommodate the admission of Croatia as the 28th member of the EU.