Former Presidents Mary McAleese and Mary Robinson were paid pensions of over €270,000 between them last year according to the Department of Finance.

Mary McAleese was paid €141,000 while her predecessor had a pension of €134,000.

Former Taoisigh Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen were paid just over €99,000 each, while Albert Reynolds and John Bruton were paid €98,000 and €91,000 respectively.

Liam Cosgrave's pension entitlement amounted to €67,000.