Six candidates have declared that they will be seeking election as new head of Trinity College.

They include four staff members.

They are John Boland, Professor of Chemistry, Des Fitzgerald, Professor of Molecular Medicine, Colm Kearney, Professor of International Business, and Jane Ohlmeyer, Professor of Modern History.

Two other candidates come from outside the university; Robin Coningham, Professor of Archaeology at Durham University and Des Fitzgerald, Professor of Molecular Medicine at UCD.

The current Provost of Trinity College, Dr John Hegarty, ends his ten-year term of office later this year.

The election will take place on Saturday, 2 April.

694 members of the academic staff, College's Board and University Council will cast their vote.