Independent Councillor Vincent Jackson is the new Lord Mayor of Dublin.

His name was picked out of a hat after he and Labour Councillor Paddy Bourke were tied on 26 votes each.

The alliance of Fine Gael, Labour, the PDs and the Greens failed to have Councillor Burke elected after former Fine Gael Councillor Niamh Cosgrave voted against her former party.

Labour Councillor Joe Leddin has been elected Mayor of Limerick city.

At a meeting of Limerick City Council tonight, Councillor Leddin received mayoralty, when he was the only name put forward for the office and his election was unopposed.

Mayor Leddin is a 36-year-old father of two and his family has a long association serving on the city council.

His two uncles, Tim and Frank Leddin both served as mayors of the city.

Labour Councillor Michael Ahern has been elected Lord Mayor of Cork.

He takes over from Fine Gael's Deirdre Clune under a five-year pact between, Fine Gael, Fianna Fail and Labour.

A long-time councillor from the Cork South-West ward, Michael Ahern was elected tonight and will hold office for a year.

Councillor Michael O'Connell was elected Deputy Lord Mayor.