The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Friday, 19.30 to 21.30

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott Tuesday 15 October 2013

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Paavo Järvi directs his Orchestre de Paris in Arvo Pärt's meditative Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten.

Friday 20th October, 7.30pm

Michael Lee presents tonight's concert live from the National Concert Hall in Dublin. Tonight's concert features the full combined forces of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and the RTÉ Philharmonic Choir conducted by Joana Carneiro, known for her vibrant performances. The programme includes Leonard Bernstein's Chichester Psalms and Elgar's Sea Pictures.
Bernstein: Chichester Psalms
Elgar: Sea Pictures
Duruflé: Requiem
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
RTÉ Philharmonic Choir

Mark Hindley (chorus master)
Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
Rachael Wilson (mezzo-soprano)
Huw Montague Rendall (baritone)
Jonas Alber (conductor)

WATCH AGAIN: Friday 13th October, 7.30pm

Paul Herriott presents tonight's concert live from the National Concert Hall in Dublin. Two impressive talents - the pianist Boris Giltburg and conductor Jaime Martín (pictured) - combine for a pyrotechnic piano display including Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1.
Bach (arr. Benjamin): Canon and Fugue (from the Art of Fugue)
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
Brahms (arr. Schoenberg): Piano Quartet, Op.25, G minor
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín (conductor)
Boris Giltburg (piano)

Music Played on the Show


Title: Cantus In Memoriam Benjamin Britten

Performer(s): Part, Arvo

Duration: 6:27


Title: Violin Concerto

Performer(s): Britten, Benjamin

Duration: 32:58


Title: Le Corsaire, Overture

Performer(s): Berlioz, Hector

Duration: 8:27


Title: Symphony No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 78 ('Organ')

Performer(s): Saint-Saens, Camille

Duration: 36:30


Title: Galop, From 'Jeux D'Enfants' (Encore)

Performer(s): Bizet, Georges

Duration: 3:45


Title: Fleur Des Bles

Performer(s): Debussy, Claude

Duration: 2:03


Title: String Quartet In A Major Op.41 No. 3

Performer(s): Schumann, Robert

Duration: 26:52



Contact the Show

Presenter: Paul Herriott

Producer: Áine Fay

Production Co-ordinator: Ian McGlynn


Ways to Listen

Radio Player