Nova Sunday 11 June 2017

On this week's Nova: "Heresy" an electronic opera by Roger Doyle. 

Composer Roger Doyle never thought he'd compose an opera but now he has. Heresy is, according to the composer himself, Ireland's first electronic opera and it premiered in the Project Arts Centre in November 2016. The opera itself tells the story of one of the Renaissance's most brilliant and controversial figures, Giordano Bruno. A magus, a priest, a philosopher, a spy and a playwright, Bruno was branded a heretic and burned at the stake in 1600 after a nine-year trial by the Roman inquisition. In tonight's Nova Roger Doyle introduces the world broadcast premiere of Heresy.

The libretto was by Jocelyn Clarke and Eric Fraad.

Morgan Crowley sang the part of Giordano Bruno.

Aimee Banks sang the part of the young Giordano Bruno,

Daire Halpin sang the parts of the Goddess Sophia and Queen Elizabeth I,

Caitriona O'Leary sang the part of the Goddess Circe,

Robert Crowe sang the parts of King Henry III, Sir Francis Walsingham, Cardinal Belarmine and James Joyce.

Jack Walsh was the actor playing the Janitor and Giovanni Bernardo in the play within the opera,  with the other cast members joining in in a myriad of roles.

The 2 onstage musicians in those scenes were Nick Roth and Francesco Turrisi.
Directed by Eric Fraad

The producer for Lyric fm was Eoin O'Kelly


Nova is about new music, chronicling what's radical and what's conservative, who's established and who's in the avant garde. Tweet: @bernardnova

Music Played on the Show


Title: Bedtime Stories

Composer: Tobin, Amon

Performer(s): Amon Tobin

Album: ISAM (Bonus Track Version) / Ninja Tune / NLSCD057

Duration: 3:44


Title: Opalescence

Composer: Redolfi, Michel/Jaume, André

Performer(s): Michel Redolfi / André Jaume

Album: hardscore / Côte D'Azur / CDA 02

Duration: 5:52


Title: Notturno

Composer: Market, Maro

Performer(s): Marija Pečnik Kvesić/Dunja Fajdić/Sreten Mokrović/Zoran Brajević/Katja Šimunić

Album: Notturno / HRT (Croatian Radio & TV) / No Number

Duration: 10:00


Title: Fluctus

Composer: Trad. arr. Ó Raghallaigh, Caoimhín/Knox, Garth

Performer(s): Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh & Garth Knox

Album: all soundings are true / Diatribe / 0603149695078

Duration: 8:18


Title: Silvanus / Bowsie

Composer: Ó Loclainn, Neil

Performer(s): E N S E M B L E É R I U

Album: Stargazer / Diatribe 2017 / Promo

Duration: 7:51


Title: String Quartet No.2 "The Cranning" Recorded 2007

Composer: Flynn, Dave

Performer(s): Rte Contempo Quartet

Album: The Galway Music Residency: 10th Anniversary Celebration / Galway Music Residency 2012 / GMR001

Duration: 5:15


Title: String Quartet No.2 "The Cranning" Parts 2-5

Composer: Flynn, Dave

Performer(s): Rte Contempo Quartet

Album: The Galway Music Residency: 10th Anniversary Celebration / Galway Music Residency 2012 / GMR001

Duration: 7:32


Title: Lament

Composer: Fitch, Claire

Performer(s): Claire Fitch

Album: Celocity / ambientcellist / FITCH003

Duration: 3:50


Title: Slippery Seas

Composer: Vivancos, Valérie

Performer(s): Ocean Viva Silver

Album: 6 Sonic Variations Phaune Box / Phaune Radio / No Number

Duration: 8:00


Title: De Rerum Natura (Dance Of The Elements)

Composer: Pöpplein, Eva/Hanushevsky, Janko

Performer(s): Merzouga

Album: De Rerum Natura (Dance of the Elements) / Merzouga/YLE / No Number

Duration: 38:22


Title: Mry

Composer: Takamasa, Aoki

Performer(s): Aoki Takamasa

Album: Silicom Two / PROGRESSIVE FOrM / pfC_2

Duration: 1:14



Contact the Show

Presenter: Bernard Clarke

Producer: Eoin O'Kelly

Production Co-ordinator: Michael O'Kane


Ways to Listen

Radio Player