Nova Sunday 16 April 2017

On this week's Nova: "Heresy" an electronic opera by Roger Doyle. 

Composer Roger Doyle never thought he'd compose an opera but now he has. Heresy is, according to the composer himself, Ireland's first electronic opera and it premiered in the Project Arts Centre in November 2016. The opera itself tells the story of one of the Renaissance's most brilliant and controversial figures, Giordano Bruno. A magus, a priest, a philosopher, a spy and a playwright, Bruno was branded a heretic and burned at the stake in 1600 after a nine-year trial by the Roman inquisition. In tonight's Nova Roger Doyle introduces the world broadcast premiere of Heresy.

The libretto was by Jocelyn Clarke and Eric Fraad.

Morgan Crowley sang the part of Giordano Bruno.

Aimee Banks sang the part of the young Giordano Bruno,

Daire Halpin sang the parts of the Goddess Sophia and Queen Elizabeth I,

Caitriona O'Leary sang the part of the Goddess Circe,

Robert Crowe sang the parts of King Henry III, Sir Francis Walsingham, Cardinal Belarmine and James Joyce.

Jack Walsh was the actor playing the Janitor and Giovanni Bernardo in the play within the opera,  with the other cast members joining in in a myriad of roles.

The 2 onstage musicians in those scenes were Nick Roth and Francesco Turrisi.
Directed by Eric Fraad

The producer for Lyric fm was Eoin O'Kelly


Nova is about new music, chronicling what's radical and what's conservative, who's established and who's in the avant garde. Tweet: @bernardnova

Music Played on the Show


Title: Always Summer Somewhere

Composer: Prior, Gavin

Performer(s): Gavin Prior

Album: Always Summer Somewhere / Deserted Village / DV55

Duration: 3:29


Title: Eclipse Truther

Composer: Prior, Gavin

Performer(s): Gavin Prior

Album: Always Summer Somewhere / Deserted Village / DV55

Duration: 5:50


Title: Truss Deck

Composer: Jensens, Jonas Kasper

Performer(s): Jonas Kasper Jensen

Album: Layers of Bridges / Clang / CLANG048

Duration: 5:29


Title: Aposiopesis

Composer: Rabelais, Akira

Performer(s): Akira Rabelais

Album: Eisoptrophobia / Ritornell ‎ / RIT 021 CD

Duration: 5:16


Title: Yugen

Composer: Ramírez, José Andrés Guadarrama

Performer(s): Tambuco Percussion Ensamble

Album: International Rostrum of Composers / EBU/IRC/Mexican Radio / EBU Tape

Duration: 6:15


Title: Third Sky

Composer: Yannatou, Savina /Guy, Barry

Performer(s): Savina Yannatou/Barry Guy

Album: Attikos

Duration: 8:26


Title: Eros

Composer: Dwyer, Benjamin

Performer(s): Maya Homburger/Barry Guy/David Adams

Album: New Music New Ireland 2

Duration: 5:10


Title: Le Sommeil D-Albertine

Composer: Vivancos, Valerie

Performer(s): Ocean Viva Silver

Album: The Sleep in Opera / THE SUBLUNAR SOCIETY/Bandcamp / Promo

Duration: 5:49


Title: La Reponse De La Baleine A Bosse - Tentative N1

Composer: Penitot, Aline

Performer(s): Aline Penitot, Brice Martin, Olivier Adam

Album: Private Recording / Artist Copy / No Number

Duration: 7:13


Title: Huxley's Walk

Composer: Morris, Colin J

Performer(s): Colin J Morris

Album: Private Recording / Artist Copy / No Number

Duration: 7:04


Title: Improv

Composer: Kelly, Anthony/Stalling, David

Performer(s): Anthony Kelly & David Stalling

Album: Sonic Vigil 6 / Farpoint Recordings / fp041

Duration: 2:53


Title: Voda (Boh U Detalyah)

Composer: Zdorovetska, Olesya

Performer(s): Olesya Zdorovetska

Album: Private Recording / Artist Copy / No Number

Duration: 1:59


Title: Perisonic Mvt2 -Excerpt

Composer: Dowling, Fergal

Performer(s): Fergal Dowling

Album: Private Recording / Artist Copy / No Number

Duration: 5:01


Title: Perisonic Mvt3 Excerpt

Composer: Mulvey, Grainne

Performer(s): Grainne Mulvey

Album: Composer Copy / Private Recording / No Number

Duration: 5:04


Title: Perisonic Mvt4 -Excerpt

Composer: McLaughlin, Scott

Performer(s): Scott Mclaughlin

Album: Private Recording / Artist Copy / No Number

Duration: 5:33


Title: Wakes On Cerulean

Composer: Jaeger, Kassel/O’Rourke, Jim

Performer(s): Kassel Jaeger & Jim O’Rourke

Album: Wakes on Cerulean / Editions Mego / EMEGO 223

Duration: 17:18


Title: Mry

Composer: Takamasa, Aoki

Performer(s): Aoki Takamasa

Album: Silicom Two / PROGRESSIVE FOrM / pfC_2

Duration: 1:14



Contact the Show

Presenter: Bernard Clarke

Producer: Eoin O'Kelly

Production Co-ordinator: Michael O'Kane

Ways to Listen

Radio Player