Mystery Train with John Kelly

Mystery Train with John Kelly

Sunday to Thursday, 7 - 9pm

Mystery Train Monday 10 February 2020

Mystery Train with John Kelly

Mystery Train is a nightly journey through the many wonders of recorded music - from its vintage glories to the latest sounds. Essential listening for the discerning music fan.

Mystery Train Guests

On our Mystery Train Sunday Service, John is joined by a special guest who picks the tunes. You can stream or download each programme via the RTÉ Player, or via the Apple Store and Spotify. Listen to programmes with Dorothy Cross, Bronagh Gallagher, Lisa Dwan, Paula Meehan, Cillian Murphy, Gavin Friday, Sam Amidon, Neil Hannon and more...

Music Played on the Show


Title: You're Welcome The Club

Composer: Sonny Thompson

Performer(s): Lee "Shot" Williams

Album: King New Breed Rhythm & Blues / Kent Dance / CDKEND 210

Duration: 2:27


Title: It's All Your Fault Baby (It's Your Own Fault)

Composer: Lowell Fulson

Performer(s): Lowell Fulson

Album: The Complete Chess Masters / Chess MCA / CHD2 9394

Duration: 2:39


Title: Mean Ole Frisco

Composer: Arthur William Crudup

Performer(s): Bb King

Album: The Best of the Kent Singles 1958-1971 / Modern/Ace / CDCHD 760

Duration: 2:29


Title: New Moon

Composer: Steve Gunn

Performer(s): Steve Gunn

Album: The Unseen In Between / Matador / Ole 1309 2

Duration: 5:09


Title: Tomorrow Never Knows

Composer: Lennon

Performer(s): The Beatles

Album: Revolver / Cdp 7 46441 2

Duration: 2:58


Title: Backstage Sally

Composer: Wayne Shorter

Performer(s): Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers

Album: Super Rad Jazz / Blue Note / 7243 4 78725 22

Duration: 5:55


Title: Gnarciss

Composer: Jeff Parker

Performer(s): Jeff Parker

Album: Suite For Max Brown / International Anthem / 624791

Duration: 2:12


Title: Firestorm

Composer: DJ Shadow

Performer(s): Dj Shadow

Album: Our Pathetic Age / Mass Appeal / MSAP0088LP

Duration: 3:59


Title: My Lonely Room

Composer: DJ Shadow

Performer(s): Dj Shadow

Album: Our Pathetic Age / Mass Appeal / MSAP0088LP

Duration: 5:37


Title: Did They Ever Tell Cousteau

Composer: E.S.T

Performer(s): E.S.T

Album: Seven Days of Falling / ACT / ACT9012-2

Duration: 6:05


Title: In Lure Of The Tropics

Composer: Traditional

Performer(s): Dr John

Album: Son of Rogues Galley / Anti / ANTI 6092

Duration: 5:01


Title: Shenandoah

Composer: Traditional

Performer(s): Tom Waits Keith Richards

Album: Son of Rogues Gallery / Anti / ANTI 6092

Duration: 4:03


Title: Country Boy

Composer: Traditional

Performer(s): Snooks Eaglin

Album: That's All Right / Prestige / OBCCD 568 2

Duration: 3:07


Title: Mama Talk To Your Daughter

Composer: Lenoir

Performer(s): Jb Lenoir

Album: House Rockin' Blues / ACE / CDCHD 610

Duration: 2:03


Title: Booted

Composer: Rosco Gordon

Performer(s): Rosco Gordon

Album: Greatest Hits & More / ACE / CDCHK1076

Duration: 3:05


Title: Who Will Be Next

Composer: Burnett

Performer(s): Howlin' Wolf

Album: House Rockin' Blues / ACE / CDCHD 610

Duration: 2:32


Title: The Internet Of Love (That Way)

Composer: R Nielson

Performer(s): Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Album: Sex & Food / Jagjaguwar / JAG 322

Duration: 4:56


Title: I'M New Here

Composer: Bill Callahan

Performer(s): Gil Scott-Heron Makaya Mccraven

Album: Gil Scott-Heron We're New Again A Reimagining by Mikaya McCraven / International Anthem/XL / PROMO

Duration: 4:13


Title: The Blue Nile

Composer: Alice Coltrane

Performer(s): Alice Coltrane

Album: Ptah, The El Daoud / Impluse / AS 91696

Duration: 7:01


Title: Message From The Nile

Composer: McCoy Tyner

Performer(s): Mccoy Tyner

Album: Extensions / Blue Note / BN LA 006 F

Duration: 12:22


Title: Egypt Strut

Composer: Salah Ragab

Performer(s): Salah Ragab And The Ciaro Jazz Band

Album: Egyptian Jazz / Art Yard / LP006

Duration: 4:09


Title: Wood

Composer: Rostam Batmanglij

Performer(s): Rostam

Album: Half-Light / Nonesuch / 7559 79356 9

Duration: 3:25


Title: Mumbay Featuring Mc Mawali

Composer: Sarathy Korwar

Performer(s): Sarathy Korwar

Album: More Arriving / Leaf / BAY 112CDP

Duration: 5:25


Title: My Queen Is Mamie Phipps Clark

Composer: Shabaka Hutchings

Performer(s): Sons Of Kemet

Album: Your Queen Is a Reptile / Verve / 00602567 364 351

Duration: 5:31



Contact the Show


Text: 51554

Tweet: @johnkellytweets

Presenter & Producer: John Kelly

Producer: Áine Fay (Sunday)

Production Co-ordinator: Ian McGlynn (Sunday)


Ways to Listen

Radio Player