Paddy Murphy, Managing Director of the family-owned Co Cork company, received the top prize in the Irish road transport industry from Minister for Energy, Communications & Natural Resources Pat Rabbitte, and John Lynch, General Manager, Rosslare Europort, the award sponsors.

Established to honour excellence in operation or services to the road transport industry, in all 14 awards were presented at the Fleet Transport Awards on the night with over 700 representatives from the road transport industry attending the Gala Dinner, hosted by RTÉ TV and Radio personality Marty Whelan.

Murphy expressed his delight on receiving this major award by commenting: "Macroom Haulage success is a combination of family support, customer loyalty and staff commitment. We all strive to be the best, that's what gives us the 'Drive to Deliver', which is our motto."

Macroom Haulage now goes forward to represent Ireland in the European Transport Company of the Year finals in 2013. Earlier the company was named as National Haulier of the Year 2013.

Other successful companies that were honoured include:

International Haulier of the Year – Dixon International (Dublin)

Owner/Driver Haulier of the Year – Dunne Haulage (Kildare)

Own Account Transport Operator of the Year – Celtic Linen (Wexford)

Regional Transport Operator of the Year – Sligo Haulage & Distribution

Livery of the Year – WS Dennison (Antrim & Limerick)

Environment Award – eircom (Dublin)

Innovation Award – Fleetmatics (Dublin)

Pallet Network Member of the Year – Tuckmill Transport (Wexford)

Customer Service Excellence – Hireco (Dublin)

Safety Award – Iron Mountain (Dublin)

Transport/Fleet Manager of the Year – John McEvoy (Kerry Foods)

Women in Transport Award – Lynda Lonergan (Mark Lonergan Transport, Kildare)

Technician of the Year – Eddie Shorten (MAN Importers Ireland)

Special Award – Gabriel Warde: Scania Young European Truck Driver of the Year 2012

The second element to the Fleet Transport Awards 2013 saw the Mercedes-Benz Actros scoop the Irish Truck of the Year 2013 title in association with Texaco Lubricants, with Iveco and Isuzu winning their category and Fuso and Smith Electric sharing the ESB ecars Green Commercial of the Year 2013 titles.