Sony – 2004 – 44 minutes

In an unusual twist, Paul Heaton et-al have taken a medley of songs from different genres and eras and put their own stamp on them. The result is a diverse collection that sounds good, but, in many cases, is overshadowed by the original versions.

The selection of tracks is wide-ranging, from Blue Oyster Cult's 'Don't Fear the Reaper', to S Club 7's pop hit, 'Don't Stop Moving'. It's an unusual choice of songs, some well-known, others less so, but, with 'You're the One That I Want', for instance, it's difficult to ignore the voices of John and Olivia when they pop into your head. The Beautiful South just can't compete.

With a diverse sound, moving from pop to rock, blues and country, 'Golddiggas...' is a brave move and an enjoyable collection, but you should really hunt down the songs' previous incarnations first.

Katie Moten

Track listing: You're the One That I Want – Livin' Thing – This Will Be Our Year – Ciao – Valentine – Don't Fear the Reaper – This Old Skin – Don't Stop Moving – Till I Can't Take it Anymore – Rebel Prince – Blitzkrieg Bop – I'm Stone in Love with You