The Echo Label/V2 Music - 2004 - 155 minutes

Some of the better compilations for bedding down newcomers beside class acts, the 'Acoustic' series has done its bit for timber-floored living rooms everywhere. But 'Best of...' has the unusual - if not downright odd - distinction of only featuring five tracks that were on the previous volumes and other tracks from the likes of Katie Melua, Jamie Cullum, Bebel Gilberto, I Am Kloot, The Stands and Nickelback.

Problem is, some of them are taking up space that should've been reserved for the greats. Why no Jeff Buckley ('Hallelujah'), Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds ('Into My Arms'), Coldplay ('Don't Panic'), Lambchop (the Zero 7 remix of 'Up With People') and Wheat ('Don't I Hold You'), the standouts from the earlier albums?

As you'd expect, V2 and Echo Label artists dominate with the absence of both Aimee Mann and Mercury Rev another mystery. There's still plenty to enjoy, even if the title isn't what it should be. Is that the sound of 'Best of Acoustic Volume 2' in the distance?

Harry Guerin

Tracklisting CD1: David Gray: Dead in the Water - Travis: Why Does It Always Rain on Me? - Dido: Thank You - Stereophonics: Maybe Tomorrow - Badly Drawn Boy: Something to Talk About - Everything But the Girl: Missing - Oasis: Little By Little - Leonard Cohen: Lover, Lover, Lover - Radiohead: Karma Police - Aqualung: Strange and Beautiful - Jamie Cullum: High and Dry - Nick Drake: Northern Sky - Morcheeba: Over and Over - The Stands: I Need You - Damien Rice: Cannonball - Velvet Underground: Jesus - Feeder: The Way I'm Feeling - Nickelback: How You Remind Me (Acoustic) - Katie Melua: The Closest Thing to Crazy - I Am Kloot: Same Deep Water

Tracklisting CD2: Eva Cassidy: Fields of Gold - Bob Dylan: Just Like a Woman - Simon and Garfunkel: Sound of Silence - Paul Weller: You Do Something to Me (Acoustic) - Nilsson: Everybody's Talkin' - Suzanne Vega: Marlena on the Wall - Moloko: The Time Is Now - Royksopp: Sparks - The Byrds: Mr Tambourine Man - Joan Armatrading: Love and Affection - Elbow: Fugitive Motel - Nitin Sawhney: Falling - Rickie Lee Jones: Ugly Man - Regina Gilberto: Don't Know Why - Grandaddy: I'm on Standby - Jean Jacques Smoothie: Love and Evil (Explorer Mix) - Babybird: Fireflies - Alison Krauss & Union Station: The Lucky One - Headway: Without a Word - Bebel Gilberto: Samea De Benaco