Ninja Tune - 2003 - 41 minutes

The output of various one-man-band instrumentalists this year has been consistently good. Releases from Fourtet, Fort Dax and Zongamin have raised the profile of artists using computers AND playing a gaggle of instruments themselves. Bonono's Simon Green is another occupier of the realm of the soloist who sounds like a mini-orchestra.

'Dial M for Monkey' is his second album and trumps his slightly fragmented debut 'Animal Magic'. The latter was pieced together over a period of years while this latest collection has been an unswerving project. The result is a beautifully coherent collection that will probably be lazily hoisted into the down-tempo category, when it is much more than that. All the usual tools - keyboards, samples, strings - are on here but each song displays a stand-out flourish: sitar is subtly employed on 'Flutter', African percussion on 'Change Down' and flute loops filter through 'Pick Up'.

Simon Green works his monkey magic on all nine tracks - it's just a pity there aren't more of them. A short but very sweet 41 minutes.

Sinéad Gleeson

Tracklisting: Noctuary - Flutter - D Song - Change Down - Wayward Bob - Pick Up - Something for Windy - Nothing Owed - Light Pattern