V2 - 2002 - 45 minutes

It has been a bumper year for former Jellyfish guitarist Jason Falkner. Producing Irish outfit Pugwash's album, playing on Beck's masterpiece 'Sea Change' and now being the other half of Brendan Benson's comeback.

Benson's debut, 'One Mississippi', was released in 1996 but he had label hassles and it wound up somewhere between lost and legend. It's doubtful the same fate will happen 'Lapalco', an album of pop the way it should be.

Falkner aside, Benson plays all instruments and works in everything from folk to new wave. His voice might not be the strongest you've ever heard but what he builds around it shames the legions of outfits who can only manage to put a handful of memorable songs on their records.

Between 'Lapalco' and Supergrass' 'Life on Other Planets' summer only sounds 45 minutes away.

Harry Guerin

Tracklisting: Tiny Spark - Metarie - Folk Singer – Life in the D - Good to Me - You're Quiet - What - Eventually - I'm Easy - Pleasure Seeker - Just Like Me - Jet Lag