Independiente - 2001 - 64 minutes

There are a million stories in the naked city, here are twelve great ones. With a long-time love of Northern Soul, Hip-Hop, Rare Groove, Electronica and other shelters in between, Oisín Lunny - filed under Firstborn - has rolled them all into a drama of pavements and dancefloors. It begins with 'I Close My Eyes', the bass shuddering ominously as singer Linda Clifford wonders "whatever happened to those days gone by" until the horns kick in with hypnotic effect. What follows is like a city unfolding after dark, each episode spilling into the next: 'The Mood Club' a teen pilgrimage to a Dublin Soul shrine, 'Hey Mr (Tambourine Man)' losing and finding Techno in a stream of conscious horror and 'Spot Prise' a soundtrack for looking over your shoulder on the way home.

While the sawn-off prose and tanked delivery of writer (and Lunny's childhood friend) Bennan Murphy on 'Happy Days' and 'Home Movie' shouldn't sit so comfortably alongside the spiritual shoutouts from diva Mary Love-Comer on 'Miracles' and 'Lay This Burden Down', somehow it all makes perfect small hours sense. A case of rear-view beat meets right now rhythm and the most adventurous debut you're likely to hear this year.

Harry Guerin

Tracklisting: I Close My Eyes - Happy Days - The Mood Club - Miracles - Spot Prise - Hey Mr (Tambourine Man) - Home Movie - Take You There - 54 Static – Lay This Burden Down - Lifeblood - Credo