Poldark won the audience award at last night's British Academy of Television Awards, with Irish star Aidan Turner there to accept the honour.

The BBC 1 period drama won the award, beating out other nominees Making a Murderer, The Great British Bake Off, Humans, Peter Kay's Car Share and Doctor Foster.

Accepting the award, Turner thanked the show's loyal fan-base saying, "Thank you so much to the fans. You're so supportive & loyal. We couldn't do it without you." 

The Radio Times Audience Award is the only category decided on by the public, with a five-week voting period open in the run-up to the awards ceremony, which took place in London on Sunday night and was hosted by Graham Norton.

Irish comedian and actress Sharon Horgan had been nominated for Best Female Performance in a Comedy Programme for her role in Channel 4 comedy Catastrophe, but lost out to Chewing Gum's Michaela Coel.

Winners in full:

Drama Series

Wolf Hall

Entertainment Programme

Strictly Come Dancing

Single Documentary

My Son The Jihadi

Current Affairs

Outbreak: The Truth About Ebola


This Is England '90

Factual Series

The Murder Detectives

News Coverage

Channel 4 News: Paris Massacre

Live Event

Big Blue Live

Female Performance in a Comedy Programme

Michaela Coel - Chewing Gum


The Ashes



Male Performance in a Comedy Programme

Peter Kay - Peter Kay's Car Share

Single Drama

Don't Take My Baby

Radio Times Audience Award


Supporting Actor

Tom Courtenay - Unforgotten

Reality and Constructed Factual

First Dates

Supporting Actress

Chanel Cresswell - This Is England '90

Comedy and Comedy Entertainment Programme

Have I Got News For You

Specialist Factual

Britain's Forgotten Slave Owners

Soap and Continuing Drama



The Great British Bake Off

Scripted Comedy

Peter Kay's Car Share

Entertainment Performance

Leigh Francis - Celebrity Juice

Leading Actress

Suranne Jones - Doctor Foster

Leading Actor

Mark Rylance - Wolf Hall

Special Award Recipient

Lenny Henry