The big winner of the night was Room, which took home seven awards in total, including the Best Director prize for Lenny Abrahamson, and Best Script for Emma Donoghue.

The legendary Liam Neeson was also honoured with a Outstanpmding Contribution to Cinema Award, presented to him by President Michael D Higgins.

In an interview with RTÉ he urged for more support of the Irish Film Board, so that Irish talent could be nurtured. 

Other winners included Ben Cleary’s short Stutterer, Abú Media’s Irish language series An Klondike and Ken Wardrop’s Mom & Me.


Distinguished actress, producer and humanitarian Roma Downey also received the Irish Diaspora Award presented to her by musician and fellow humanitarian Bob Geldof.

The award is presented by the Academy in partnership with the Ministry of Diaspora Affairs within the Department of An Taoiseach.

Tributes paid to Downey – best known for playing Monica in Touched By An Angel and for producing epic mini-series The Bible (watched by over 100 million people) as well as for her humanitarian work – included those from US television presenter Regis Philbin and actor Jack Huston.

There were plenty of stars on the red carpet as well: Chris O'Dowd, Amy Huberman, Panti Bliss and many more all took the night off to celebrate with their peers.

If you're interested in what the biggest stars wore on the night, check out our gallery.

Highlights of the IFTA Film & Drama Awards are on TV3 tonight at 9pm.


IFTA Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award: Liam Neeson

Best Film: Room

Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Room

Best Script Film: Emma Donoghue for Room

Irish Film Board Rising Star: Stephen Fingleton

Best Lead Actor Film: Michael Fassbender for Steve Jobs

Best Lead Actress Film: Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor Film: Jack Reynor for Sing Street

Best Supporting Actress Film: Jane Brennan for Brooklyn

George Morrison Feature Documentary: Mom & Me

Best Animated Short: Geist

Best Short Film: Stutterer

Best Drama in association with the BAI: An Klondike

Best Director Drama: Neasa Hardiman for Happy Valley

Best Writer Drama: Marcus Fleming for An Klondike

Best Lead Actor Drama: Dara Devaney for An Klondike

Best Lead Actress Drama: Ruth Bradley for Rebellion

Best Supporting Actor Drama: Moe Dunford for Vikings

Best Supporting Actress Drama: Sarah Greene for Penny Dreadful

Best Director of Photography: Cathal Watters for Viva

Best Costume Design: Joan Bergin for Vikings

Best Editing: Nathan Nugent for Room

Best M.A.C. Make-Up and Hair: An Klondike

Best Original Music: Stephen Rennicks for Room

Best Production Design: Tom Conroy for Legend

Best Sound: Room

Best VFX: The Frankenstein Chronicles (Screen Scene)

Best International Film: Spotlight

Best International Actor: Leonardo Di Caprio for The Revenant

Best International Actress: Brie Larson for Room