Coldplay will play six special shows to mark the release of their new album Ghost Stories, it has been announced.

The British band will perform in London, New York, Los Angeles, Paris, Tokyo and Cologne, kicking off in Germany on April 25 and concluding in London's Royal Albert Hall on July 1.

Tickets for the Cologne show go on sale on Saturday April 19 at

Subscribers to the Coldplay mailing list will be sent details regarding the other events.

Coldplay release their sixth album Ghost Stories on May 16.

See the full show dates below:

25 April - E-Werk, Cologne, Germany
05 May - Beacon Theatre, New York, USA
19 May - Royce Hall, Los Angeles, USA
28 May - Casino de Paris, Paris, France
12 June - Dome City Hall, Tokyo, Japan
01 July - Royal Albert Hall, London, UK