Bram Stoker is included, but James Connolly, WB Yeats and the Abbey Theatre Bridge have failed to make the shortlist for the name of the new Dublin bridge at Marlborough Street that will service the LUAS linkup and other forms of public transport.

The final shortlist is:
Willie Bermingham, founder of the Alone charity

Frank Duff, founder of the Legion of Mary

Rosie Hackett, Irish Citizen Army activist

Camogie player Kay Mills

Novelist Bram Stoker

The five names will be put to a vote at a full Dublin City Council meeting in September.

Other names to have been dropped from the earlier shortlist of 10 names include scientists George Sigerson and Ernest Walton, a Nobel Prize winner.

The original list featured 85 nominations, with the City Council's Commemorative Naming Committee of eight councillors from Labour, Fine Gael, Sinn Féin, Fianna Fáil and Independents working down to the final five.

Chairman Cllr Dermot Lacey said the committee had worked well together to make a decision in the best interest.

The committee is recommending that the full council vote on the final name is by a 'preferendum', which is a system of proportional representation.