Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan has announced that Bill O'Herlihy is the Chairman designate of the new board for Bord Scannán na hÉireann/Irish Film Board.

O'Herlihy's position is to be confirmed by the Oireachtas Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht, and he is one of seven new board members announced by the Minister.

The other board members are: Maurice Sweeney (Documentary Filmmaker), Dr Annie Doona (President of Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (IADT)), John Rice (Animator), Kate O'Toole (Actress), Séamus Deasy (Cinematographer) and Katie Holly (Producer).

The Minister said: "I am delighted that these seven very talented individuals have accepted my invitation to become members of the board of Bord Scannán na hÉireann/Irish Film Board. They are joining Bord Scannán na hÉireann/Irish Film Board at a very important time for Ireland's film and audiovisual sector.

"Supporting and creating employment - across all sectors - is a priority for this Government. The film and audiovisual sector is playing its part, and it is vital that we grow the contribution that this sector can make to Ireland's ongoing recovery.

"Under the Chairmanship of Bill O'Herlihy, and together with the experienced staff in Bord Scannán na hÉireann/Irish Film Board, I believe that the new board can be a catalyst to help the agency grow and develop and to nurture the next generation of audiovisual talent in Ireland."

The appointments are for a four-year period.