The 2013 Independent Spirit Awards took place yesterday (February 23) at Santa Monica Beach in California, celebrating the best in independent filmmaking.

The big winner of the night was Silver Linings Playbook, which took home the top gong for Best Feature, as well as Best Director for David O Russell, Best Screenplay and Best Actress for Jennifer Lawrence.

However, the film's male lead Bradley Cooper lost out on the Best actor award to John Hawkes for The Sessions.

Matthew McConaughey won the award for Best Supporting Male for Magic Mike, while Helen Hunt took home the award for Best Supporting Actress for her work on The Sessions.

Camila Alves, Matthew McConaughey

Jennifer Lawrence

Kerry Washington

Daniel Radcliffe

Rashida Jones

Helen Hunt

Salma Hayek

Bradley Cooper

Take a look at some of the winners of the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards below.

Best Feature
Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Actor
John Hawkes, The Sessions

Best Actress
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor
Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

Best Supporting Actress
Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Screenplay
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature
The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best Documentary
The Invisible War

Best Cinematography
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best International Film