After fifty years in the music industry, guitar legend Eric Clapton is finally putting a sock in it.

However, we're sorry to disappoint old punks who'd be elated if ol' Eric never played another chord - Old Sock is the title of his soon-to be-released new album.

It's a collection of some of Clapton’s favourite songs, from Leadbelly to J.J. Cale to Peter Tosh to George Gershwin to Gary Moore and Taj Mahal.

The album includes two new original songs Every Little Thing and Gotta Get Over and a collaboration with Paul McCartney. JJ Cale, Chaka Khan and Steve Winwood also guest on the album which is out on March 22.

Full track listing is: Further On Down The Road, Angel, The Folks Who Live On The Hill, Gotta Get Over, Till Your Well Runs Dry, All Of Me, Born To Lose, Still Got The Blues, Goodnight Irene, Your One and Only Man, Every Little Thing, Our Love Is Here To Stay.