There was a surprise in store for Destiny’s Child fans yesterday with the new that the group have released a new compilation, Love Songs, and a new single.

Posting on her website, Beyonce wrote: "I am so proud to announce the first original Destiny's Child music in eight years!"

The new song, Nuclear, which will appear on the compilation album, is produced by Pharrell Williams and is co-written by him and Michelle Williams.

This is the girl group's first release since their fifth album, Destiny Fulfilled, which was released in November 2004.

Some of their best-known hits include Bootylicious, Survivor, Say My Name and Bills, Bills, Bills and the new album Love Songs is set for release on January 29.