The shortlist for The Meteor Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2012 has been announced.

The ten albums in contention are:

Wallis Bird – Wallis Bird (Rubyworks)

The Cast of Cheers – Family (Schoolboy Error)

Adrian Crowley - I See Three Birds Flying (Chemikal Underground)

Delorentos - Little Sparks (Delo Records)

Damien Dempsey – Almighty Love (Sony)

Julie Feeney – Clocks (Mittens)

Heathers – Kingdom (Warner Music)

Mumblin Deaf Ro – Dictionary Crimes (Popical Island)

Two Door Cinema Club – Beacon (Kitsune)

Windings - I Am Not The Crow (Out On A Limb)

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). The short list was selected by a panel of 11 Irish music “media professionals and industry experts” from the extensive longlist which can be viewed on the official Meteor Choice Music Prize website.

The overall winning Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Meteor Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on March 7. The evening will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul McLoone show and live streamed on

Past winners include Julie Feeney, The Divine Comedy, Jape and Two Door Cinema Club.