Shine on - Irish Writers for Shine, first published in 2011, features prose and poetry by President Michael D Higgins, Paul Durcan, Colm Tóibín, Rita Ann Higgins, Brendan Kennelly and many others.

The anthology is published in support of the Irish voluntary body, Shine, working with people affected by mental health. Miriam O'Callaghan, an active supporter of Shine, wrote the foreword. Miriam was involved in the launch of the See Change campaign and the Taking Control of Your Mental Health magazine some years ago.

"Every one deserves the same opportunities in life, and it is time to break down the stigma associated with mental health probems and allow each one of us to be open and honest about our own personal experiences, " writes Miriam.

The almost 300-page book is edited with a thought-provoking introduction from poet Pat Boran. Other writers who generously offered pieces include Joseph O'Connor, Brendan Kennelly, Kevin Barry, Harry Clifton, Theo Dorgan, Vona Groarke, Mary O'Donnell, Lia Mills, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Gabriel Rosenstock, Dennis O'Driscoll, and Vincent Woods.

Avaialble in all good bookshops. See for details and