Irish author Colm Tóibín has been named the winner of the Costa Novel Award for his book 'Brooklyn'.

The Costa Awards, formerly the Whitbread Prize, "recognise the most enjoyable books of the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland".

Tóibín beat Man Booker Prize winner Hilary Mantel ('Wolf Hall'), Penelope Lively ('Family Album') and Christopher Nicholson ('The Elephant Keeper') to the award.

The judges said of Tóibín's 'Brooklyn': "Poised, quiet and incrementally shattering - we all loved this book and can't praise it highly enough."

Tóibín's book will now go forward for the Costa Book of the Year award, which will be announced later this month.

Joining Tóibín on the shortlist are: Raphael Selbourne ('Beauty', First Novel Award winner), Graham Farmelo ('The Strangest Man', Biography Award winner), Christopher Reid ('A Scattering', Poetry Award winner) and Patrick Ness ('The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking, Book Two)', Children's Book Award winner).

The winner of the Costa Book of the Year will be announced in London on Tuesday, 26 January.

Last year Irish author Sebastian Barry won the Costa Novel Award for his book 'The Secret Scripture' and went on to win the Costa Book of the Year award.