RTÉ is calling on all songwriters to submit an entry to represent Ireland in the 'Eurovision Song Contest 2010', to take place in Oslo next May.

Last year’s Eurovision, hosted by Russia in Moscow was deemed to be one of the most successful ever, attracting a total of 124m viewers – a 17% increase on 2008.

The decision to have the winner chosen by a 50/50 combination of jury and televote was a well-received development and appears to have answered the criticism often levelled at the voting section of the show.

In 2010, this 50/50 system will now also apply to the semi-final qualifying stage, which Ireland will compete in, as well as to the 'Grand Final' itself.

RTÉ has decided to re-appoint the same five members chaired by Eurovision winner Linda Martin and including MD, Universal Music Ireland, Mark Crossingham, showbiz agent/choreographer Julian Benson, RTÉ broadcaster and Eurovision Commentator, Larry Gogan, and Diarmuid Furlong head of the Official Eurovision Fan Club of Ireland.

Five songs will be put forward by the selection panel to compete in a 'Late Late Show Eurosong' 2010 special in early March.

Ireland’s entry will compete in one of the semi-finals on either the 25th or 27th of May to qualify for the Grand Final, which will take place on Saturday, 29 May.

The closing date for entries is noon on Monday, 1 February 2010.

For further details on Eurosong 2010, including full competition rules see www.rte.ie/eurovision.