RTÉ Radio 1 was named the National Station of the Year at the 2008 PPI Radio Awards in Kilkenny on Friday night.

Marian Finucane was the recipient of the Outstanding Achievement award at the ceremony.

RTÉ Radio 1 programmes and presenters won a total of eight gold PPI Radio Awards.

'The Shepherd', which was broadcast on 'Sunday Playhouse', was named Drama of the Year and the award for Specialist Music Programme of the Year went to 'Jazz on the Bay'.

'The News at One' presenter Seán O'Rourke was named News Broadcaster of the Year while the News Programme of the Year award went to 'Morning Ireland'.

'Today with Pat Kenny' was named Current Affairs Programme of the Year for its special programme from Finglas while 'Morning Ireland' won the award for News Story of the Year for 'Bye Bye Bertie'.

'The Diary of Leanne Wolfe' was the winner of the Documentary of the Year award while the Feature Item of the Year award went to 'Meat Factory Worms' on the programme 'The Curious Ear'.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Ana Leddy, Head of RTÉ Radio 1, said: "I am thrilled with all of the awards tonight and want to thank the PPI and my colleagues in the radio sector for this tribute to RTÉ Radio 1's programme teams and presenters. The ultimate judges of what we do are the listeners but tonight we are judged by some of the toughest critics out there, our colleagues and competitors."

RTÉ Radio 1, RTÉ 2fm and RTÉ lyric fm also won several silver and bronze PPI radio awards.