The Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year event will be held at Vicar Street, Dublin on Tuesday 28 February. 

Nine of the ten acts on the Choice Music Prize shortlist will attend and perform live - the only absentee being The Chalets, who will be on tour in Europe with the Kaiser Chiefs.

The acts who will be performing at the event are Bell X1, Cane 141, Joe Chester, Duke Special, Julie Feeney, Hal, Nick Kelly, Emmett Tinley and Turn.

The winner of the Choice Music Prize will be announced on the night and the winning act will receive €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

The act will also receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists and Performers Ltd (RAAP).

The Choice Music Prize event will be covered live on Tom Dunne's 'Pet Sounds' on Today FM from 7pm to 11pm.

A limited number of tickets, priced €25, have now gone on sale from Ticketmaster outlets.

The shortlist for the Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2005 is:
Bell X1 - 'Flock' (Island)
Cane 141 - 'Moonpool' (Exceptional)
The Chalets - 'Check-In' (Setanta)
Joe Chester - 'A Murder of Crows' (Barp)
Duke Special - 'Adventures In Gramophone' (Hag)
Julie Feeney - '13 Songs' (Self-released)
Hal - 'Hal' (Rough Trade)
Nick Kelly - 'Running Dog' (Self Possessed)
Emmett Tinley - 'Attic Faith' (Independent Records)
Turn - 'Turn' (Setanta)

The shortlist has been selected by a panel consisting of twelve media professionals representing Irish print, radio and TV.