It has been announced that Sean Connery is to receive the 34th American Film Institute Lifetime Achievement Award.

Howard Stringer, Chair of the AFI Board of Trustees, said: "Sir Sean Connery is an international film icon. Though best remembered for creating one of the great film heroes of all time, his talents transcend typecasting, and his body of work not only stands the test of time, but illuminates a career more extraordinary than James Bond himself."

The award will be presented to Connery at a tribute ceremony in Los Angeles on 8 June 2006.

Previous winners of the award include Robert De Niro, Clint Eastwood, Martin Scorsese, Tom Hanks and Harrison Ford.