The Darkness have taken top honours at the 49th Ivor Novellos Awards Ceremony in London, being named Songwriters of the Year.

The annual awards aim to honour the talents of British composers, songwriters and music publishers.

Sharing the honours on the night were Will Young, whose song 'Leave Right Now' (written by Francis Eg White) was awarded Best Song Musically and Lyrically, and Amy Winehouse, who received the award for Best Contemporary Song for 'Stronger Than Me' (co-written with Salaam Remi).

Best Original Film Score on the night went to Dan Jones for 'Max', while 'Mad World' performed by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules (written by Roland Orzabal) received the award for Best-Selling UK Single.

Dido also claimed a share of the honours with her hit single 'White Flag', which she co-wrote with Rollo Armstrong and Rick Nowels, being awarded International Hit Of The Year.

Most Performed Work went to Jamelia for 'Superstar', written by Mich Hansen, Joseph Balmaati and Remee while the Outstanding Song Collection award went to Eric Stewart, Kevin Godley, Lol Crème and Graham Gouldman of 10CC.