Influential American alternative rock band the Pixies are to release a 23-track Best of album and DVD.

During their career, which only lasted five years from 1987 until 1992, the band - Kim Deal, Black Francis, David Lovering, Joey Santiago - released one EP ('Come On Pilgrim'), four albums ('Surfer Rosa', 'Doolittle', 'Bossanova', 'Trompe le Monde') and a handful of singles.

Posthumous releases have included 'Complete B-Sides' and a compilation of six BBC radio sessions entitled 'Pixies at the BBC'.

The new album expands on 1997's 'Death To The Pixies' compilation, including B-sides, live favourite 'Into The White' and a cover of Neil Young's 'Winterlong'.

'Wave of Mutilation - Best of Pixies' is released in Ireland on 7 May.

To coincide with this, the Pixies will also, on 7 May, release a DVD which includes videos and a documentary featuring interviews with PJ Harvey, Bono, Badly Drawn Boy and Fran Healy.

The reunited Pixies will play as special guests of the Red Hot Chili Peppers at their Phoenix Park show on 12 June.