The Arts Council hosted a reception yesterday to welcome six new members to Aosdána.

Aosdána, which was established by the Arts Council in 1981, is an affiliation of creative artists engaged in literature, music and the visual arts.

It honours those artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Ireland and to encourage and assist members in devoting their energies fully to their art.

Membership of the organisation, which is by peer nomination and election, is limited to 200 living artists who have produced a distinguished body of work.  

The six new members are poets Moya Cannon and Trevor Joyce, visual artists Eileen MacDonagh and Geraldine O'Reilly, novelist and poet John F Deane and playwright Jimmy Murphy.