Nick Hornby's new book, '31 Songs', is published in hardback today.

The book finds Hornby writing about the titular number of tracks and why they are significant to him.

He begins with Teenage Fanclub's 'Your Love Is the Place Where I Come From' and goes on to cover artists as diverse as Patti Smith, Nelly Furtado, Bruce Springsteen and The Avalanches.

Along the way, '31 Songs' also includes Hornby discussing guitar solos and the pros and cons of walking out of a bad concert.