The Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin, has announced the 10 new recipients of the Decade of Centenaries Markievicz Award for artists.

The 10 awards go to artists Emily Aoibheann (Circus), Chloe Brenan (Film), Tara Kearns (Visual Arts), Margo McNulty (Visual Arts), Janet Moran (Theatre), Siobhán Ní Dhuinnín (Dance), Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Literature) Jody O'Neill (Theatre), Aoife Spillane-Hinks (Opera) and Olesya Zdorovetska (Music).

The Markievicz Award is intended to support artists to develop their craft and ultimately produce great art that recognises and commemorates the role of women in the historical period 1912-1923 covered by the Decade of Centenaries Programme, and beyond.

Decade of Centenaries Markievicz Award recipients
Back row (L-R): Tara Kearns, Janet Moran, Olesya Zdorovetska, Chloe Brenan, Emily Aoibheann,
and front row (L-R): Aoife Spillane-Hinks, Margo McNulty, Minister Catherine Martin,
Siobhán Ní Dhuinnín and Jody O'Neill. (Pic: Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland)

Working in partnership with the Arts Council, awards under the scheme are made by The Minister's Department each year, to individual artists working alone or in collaboration with others, to a value of €25k per individual or group.

"The 10 artists announced as Markievicz Award recipients join the 20 artists already in receipt of the Award since it began in 2019," said Minister Martin. "The Award honours Constance de Markievicz – herself an artist – and provides tangible support for artists from all backgrounds and genres to produce new work that reflects on the role of women in the period covered by the centenary commemorations and beyond. Enhanced last year, 2022 is the fourth year of the Award ably administered by our partner, the Arts Council. I am committed to supporting the Award this year and next as we work to renew, restore and support the working environment for artists in the wake of the public health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic."