Meath beat Leinster and All Ireland Champions Dublin to win the Delaney Cup.

Meath became the Leinster Football Champions for the first time since 1991 after beating their neighbours and All Ireland Champions Dublin. A rain soaked encounter was watched by an attendance of 55,000 in Croke Park. The weather contributed to a game that was often error strewn but to which both teams showed great commitment.

At half time Meath trailed Dublin by a point 0-03 to 0-04 having been wasteful with a number of scoring opportunities. With a little over ten minutes to go Dublin led by two points 0-08 to 0-06 following an Eamonn Heery score. That was to be Dublin's lot though points from Brendan Reilly, Trevor Giles, Barry Callaghan and Tommy Dowd gave Meath a two point lead. Dublin did threaten Meath's goal towards the end but Meath held on to take the Leinster title.

Highlights shown here are taken from The Sunday Game broadcast 28 July 1996. The commentators are Ger Canning and Colm O'Rourke.     

The final score was Meath 0-10 Dublin 0-08.