Press Releases

RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2017 Shortlist

RTÉ Choice Music Prize  Irish Album of the Year 2017 Shortlist

The shortlist for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2017, in association with IMRO & IRMA, was announced today on RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford Show by Tony Clayton Lea, chairman of the judging panel. The shortlist is as follows:

Come On Live Long In The Still (self released)

Marlene Enright - Placemats and Second Cuts (self released)

Fangclub – Fangclub (Universal)

LankumBeneath the Earth and Sky (Rough Trade)

James Vincent McMorrowTrue Care (Faction Records)

New JacksonFrom Night to Night (All City)

Otherkin – OK (Rubyworks)

Fionn Regan The Meetings of the Waters (Abbey Records)

Ships – Precession (Ships Music)

Talos Wild Alee (Feel Good Lost)

As part of RTÉ’s continued commitment to promoting Irish music, RTÉ 2FM celebrates the announcement of the shortlist across its schedule throughout the day with All Irish Music All Day from 6am to midnight. As part of this Louise McSharry will present a two-hour special programme on this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2017 shortlist from 8-10pm this evening. RTÉ 2FM will continue to mark the announcement of the shortlist this week and beyond through a mix of airplay of tracks from the shortlisted albums, interviews with this year’s shortlisted artists and live performances.

The shortlisted albums can be enjoyed in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website and on The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 8th March 2018. As part of the partnership with RTÉ, the event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four-hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize TV programme, approximately one week later.

The 13th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music.  The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award. 

RAAP, Culture Ireland & Golden Discs are also official project partners. 

Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the RTE Choice Music Prize Live Event on March 8th while Golden Discs will feature special stands showcasing the RTE Choice Music Prize nominees across their stores nationwide.

RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017

The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017 will be announced on Wednesday 31st January 2018. A special event featuring exclusive performances from both Album of the Year and Song of the Year nominees will be held in Dublin’s Tramline venue that evening.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are available at all Ticketmaster outlets and at priced €28.00 including booking fee.

Stay up-to-date with the latest RTÉ Choice Music Prize news by following @choiceprize, @rte2fm, @rte and @rte2 on Twitter and Facebook and @explorerte and @rte2fm on Instagram using #rtechoiceprize. For Snapchat updates, follow @rte2fm.


For further information please contact:

Choice Prize: Liza Geddes, Recode Publicity I 

RTE:  Neil O’Gorman (01) 2083989 or (087) 2077192  I  

Notes to Editor:

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize is organised by David Reid. Irish Times music writer/critic Tony Clayton-Lea is the chairman of the judging panel. It is unique in that it focuses simply and solely on the music in judging the releases, as opposed to sales or airplay. The full list of judges is on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website.

Past recipients: 

Album of the Year
2005 Julie Feeney - 13 Songs (Julie Feeney) 
2006 The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone) 
2007 Super Extra Bonus Party - Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set) 
2008 Jape - Ritual (Co-op Records) 
2009 Adrian Crowley - Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground) 
2010 Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)
2011 Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
2012 Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)
2013 Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)
2014 The Gloaming  - The Gloaming (Real World)

2015 Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)

2016 Rusangano Family – Let The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)

Song of the Year
2011 Royseven – We Should Be Lovers (Warner) 
2012 Gavin James – Say Hello (Believe)
2013 The Original Rudeboys – Never Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks) 
2014 The Script – Superheroes (Sony Music)

2015 Gavin James – Bitter Pill (Warner Music)

2016 Picture This – Take My Hand (Warner Music)

Further information can be found at: