Press Releases

Ryan Dolan To Represent Ireland At Eurovision 2013

26 Feb: Ryan Dolan has been announced as the winning act to represent Ireland at the 58th Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo, Sweden in May.

Ryan battled it out against four other finalists in the Late Late Show - Eurosong 2013, topping the vote which was a combination of 50% public tele-vote and 50% regional jury vote.

Ryan composed his song Only Love Survives with Wez Devine.

Ryan Dolan is a young singer-songwriter from Strabane in Co. Tyrone. He has played support to many acts over the years including Tinchy Stryder, Jedward and many more. Ryan has been described as one of the most exciting homegrown musical talents to be discovered in Ireland in recent years. His YouTube channel has received over 800,000 hits.

Speaking tonight Ryan said, “I am thrilled to have been chosen to represent Ireland in the Eurovision Song Contest. A huge thank you to everyone who voted for the song tonight – I really appreciate it. I’d like to thank my family, friends and my mentor Stuart for all their support over the last few months. It’s such an honour to have been chosen to represent Ireland at Eurovision. I can’t wait to perform in Malmo in May.”

Ryan’s Eurovision mentor is Spotlight Productions director Stuart O’Connor. Stuart is the man behind the successful Jedward pantos and all Jedward's live tours in the last three years. He devised the performance of Waterline at last year’s Eurovision. Stuart recently produced and directed The Best of Eurovision Show with six previous winners Johnny Logan, Linda Martin, Niamh Kavanagh, Dana, Charlie McGettigan and Paul Harrington. He was a judge on RTÉ's Supercrew and choreographed the highly acclaimed RTÉ Big Music Week Lipdub YouTube video.

In alphabetical order the other acts who competed in Eurosong were: Aimée singing Crashing Down, Zoë Alexis Bohorquez singing Fire, Inchequin singing Son Kez/The Last Time and Kasey singing Kiss Me.

Former Eurovision winners Lordi performed Hard Rock Hallelujah during the Late Late Show. Lordi made history in 2006 by winning the Eurovision Song Contest with a then record 292 points, becoming the first Finnish performer to win the contest.

This year’s Eurovision will be held in Malmo, Sweden, in May, with Ireland competing in the first semi-final on Tuesday May 14th. The Eurovision final will take place on Saturday May 18th.