Press Releases

RTÉ Announces Ireland's Eurovision 2013 Hopefuls

6 February 2013: The five Irish acts and songs competing to represent Ireland in this year's Eurovision have been confirmed today (Wednesday February 6th).

In alphabetical order the acts are Zoë Alexis Bohorquez, Ryan Dolan, Aimee Fitzpatrick, Inchequin and Kasey.

The public will get the chance to hear each of the five songs for the first time tomorrow (Thursday February 7th) on Mooney on RTÉ Radio 1 from 3pm.

Last November RTÉ nominated five mentors with proven experience in the Irish music industry and asked them each to select an act and a song which they believe has the potential to be a Eurovision winner.

In alphabetical order the five mentors and their chosen acts and songwriters are:


Mairead Farrell
Kiss Me There

Shay Healy
Son Kez/

The Last Time
Hugh O’ Neill,
Sinead Bradley
Arranged by Tevfik Kulak

Mark McCabe
Aimée Fitzpatrick
Crashing Down
Robert Grace

Niall Mooney
Zoe Alexis Bohorquez
Lauren White,
Niall Mooney,
Willie Weeks

Stuart O’ Connor
Ryan Dolan
Only Love Survives
Wez Devine,
Ryan Dolan

The winning act will be selected on Eurosong 2013 on The Late Late Show on Friday February 22nd. As was the case last year, Ireland’s Eurovision entry will be selected by a combination of public and regional jury vote.

This year’s Eurovision will be held in Malmo, Sweden, in May, with Ireland competing in the first semi-final on Tuesday May 14th. The Eurovision final takes place on Saturday May 18th.