Press Releases

RTÉ Radio to Announce Winners of the P.J. O'Connor Radio Drama Awards 2007

RTÉ Radio 1 will announce the winners of the P. J. O’Connor Radio Drama Awards 2007 on Tuesday, 29 May at 7pm in Studio 1, RTÉ Radio Centre, Dublin 4.

This year 200 plays by writers from all over Ireland and overseas were entered into the competition.  The panel of judges include Danish theatre critic and playwright Jesper Bergmann, director, producer and writer John Lynch and novelist Julie Parsons.

Managing Director of RTÉ Radio, Adrian Moynes, will present winners with prizes.

As well as the professional production of their plays, the three overall winners from the shortlist of twelve will receive €3,000 (winner), €2,000 (runner-up) and €1,000 (second runner-up).

What?                        Announcement of the winners of the P.J. O’Connor Radio Drama Awards 2007

Where?                     Studio 1, RTÉ Radio Centre, Dublin 4

When?                      7pm, Tuesday, 29 May 2007

Date: Friday, 25 May 2007

Issued by RTÉ Radio

Note to Editor:


(In alphabetical order)

‘A Short Swim in the Air’
George Carroll, Crumlin, Dublin

‘Shamrocks and War’
Philip Doherty, Cavan, Co. Cavan

Kevin Gildea, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin

Ger Gleeson, Birr, Co. Offaly

‘In the Real World’
Ciarán Gray, North Strand, Dublin

Garrett Keogh, Gorey, Co. Wexford

‘Mind the Gap’
Shay Linehan, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin

‘Song of the Small Bird’
Martin Malone, Kildare

‘Life in Cars’
Kevin Murphy, Dalkey, Co. Dublin

‘Summer’s Night’
Tina Noonan, Bray, Co. Wicklow

‘Hahana Murphy’
John O’Neill, New Zealand

‘The Invasion of Planet Ballymun’
Liz Zimmerman, Dublin

About the Adjudication Panel

Jesper Bergmann

Jesper Bergmann is a theatre critic, dramaturge and radio producer who has work in theatre and theatre schools in Stockholm and Malmo.  He has worked on the production of over 200 new Danish plays for Denmarks Radio, fifteen of which have received international awards and recommendations.  He has adapted plays for RTÉ, the Royal Danish Theatre company and Odense City Theatre. 

John Lynch,
John Lynch is an acclaimed film, television and stage director, a producer and a writer.  He was a radio producer, director and writer at RTÉ for seven years.  Two of his stage plays (“All You Need Is Love” and “Close The Pantry Door”) have been produced by the Abbey Theatre Dublin and many of his plays have been performed worldwide.  He directed the critically acclaimed feature film “Night Train”.

He has worked as a producer/director at RTÉ Television and on co-productions with Channel Four, the BBC and the European Broadcasting Union.  He was director and Executive Producer of “Glenroe” when it achieved the highest ratings for a drama series in the history of Irish Television in the 1990/1 season. In 1996 he took “Fair City” to the top for the first time.      .

He is a founder member of The Irish Writers’ Centre and until recently was Chairman of the Board.  For many years he was Chairman of The Society of Irish Playwrights and a Shareholder at the Abbey Theatre.  He is a board member of the Irish Playwrights and Screen Writers’ Guild. 

John Lynch is currently adapting “Carmilla” by J.S. Le Fanu for the screen and is to direct the feature film “Tillsonburg” in Ontario, Canada for Savi-Media (Toronto)/Subotica Entertainment. 

Julie Parsons

Julie Parsons is a former RTÉ radio and television producer. She is the author of five highly acclaimed novels; 'Mary,Mary' (1998), 'The Courtship Gift' (1999), 'Eager to Please' (2001), 'The Guilty Heart' (2003) and  'The Hourglass' (2005). She adapted 'The Guilty Heart' for a five part series for RTÉ Radio in 2005. Her sixth novel, ‘I Saw You’ will be published in Spring 2008