RTÉ Radio 1 Wins Station of the Year at the PPI Radio Awards 2012

RTÉ Radio 1 has been named as Station of the Year at the 2012 PPI Radio Awards in Kilkenny.

RTÉ Radio had received a total of 32 nominations for this year’s PPI Radio Awards, across RTÉ Radio 1, RTÉ lyric fm and RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta.

RTÉ Radio 1 had emerged as the most-nominated Irish radio station, with 24 nominations across sport, news, current-affairs, drama, documentary, speech and music. RTÉ Radio 1 took home five Gold Awards at the 2012 ceremony: Best News Programme for Morning Ireland; Best Documentary for Documentary on One: Maurice - A Final Journey; Best Drama for Drama on One: The Dreaming of Roger Casement; Best Interactive Speech Programme for Liveline; Best News Broadcaster of the Year was Morning Ireland's Aine Lawlor.

RTÉ lyric fm, a former PPI Music Station of the Year, secured five nominations this year, and took a Gold Award for The John Kelly Ensemble. RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta, currently Celtic Media Festival Station of the Year, took Gold for Ronan Beo @ 3.

The awards ceremony took place in Kilkenny this evening. RTÉ Radio was recently named International Broadcaster of the Year at the New York Festivals 2012.