RTE Television

Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2013

Were a nation of readers, and the 2013 Bord Gis Energy Irish Book Awards, presented this year by RTÉs Keelin Shanley and John Murray, promises to be a treat for readers and book-clubbers the nation over.

This years shortlist highlights the work of a diverse array of acclaimed writers including John Banville, Roddy Doyle, Colum McCann, Michael Harding, Donna Tartt, Donal Ryan and Frank McGuinness. Also included are memoirs from celebrated media personalities such as Eamon Dunphy and UK comedian Jennifer Saunders, sporting figures such as hurling legends DJ Carey and Sen g hAilpn, rugby legend Johnny Sexton, new titles from Rachel and Darina Allen, as well as works by much-loved fiction writers Patricia Scanlan, Claudia Carroll, Cathy Kelly and newcomer Rachael English.

Young Adult and Childrens writers nominated this year include former winners John Boyne, Derek Landy and Chris Judge and theres crime fiction, non-fiction, cookery, short stories and much, much more. Join us for a celebration of the best of writing in 2013.

Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2013
  • RTÉ One, Saturday, 10.55pm