RTE Television

Fleadh Cheoil

Fleadh Cheoil is a series of six half hour television programmes from the very successful Ennis Fleadh Cheoil, presented by John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin. Surprisingly Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann has only been held in Ennis twice before in 1956 and 1977 and the strength of traditional music in Co. Clare is well reflected in the series.

The programmes highlight the contribution of some of the ten thousand musicians from Ireland and abroad who contribute to the mixture of concerts, competitions, pub sessions and impromptu street entertainment that helps to make The Fleadh one of the biggest music festivals in the world.

Some of the musicians featured in the programme are Kieran Hanrahan, Dylan Foley, Edel Fox, Micheal Ó Raghallaigh, Conor Keane, Eileen Gannon, Matt Cranitch, Jackie Daly, Padraig Rynne, Antoin MacGabhann and the Co. Clare musical sisters The O'Dea's and The Howley's as well as concertina player Chris Droney who won the first of his ten All Ireland Medals at the Ennis Fleadh sixty years ago.

The strength of traditional Irish music around the world is emphasised by the inclusion of The Taro Band and The Toyota Band, both from Japan, in the Céilí Band competition, the first Japanese bands to feature in the 66 year old event.

Many popular traditional music groups appear in the series including Full Set, Project West, Out The Gap, Arum, The Rising and The Shandrum Céilí Band who retained the All Ireland Céilí Band title, won in Sligo last year.


PROGRAMME 1 TX Date: 27/01/17 - 7.30pm RTÉ One

The first programme in this new six part series from Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann which was back in Ennis Co. Clare after a gap of almost 40 years is presented by John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin. The programme features the groups Project West and Out the Gap and this year's Ard-Ollamh Micheál Ó hAlmhain.

PROGRAMME 2 TX Date: 03/02/17 - 7.30pm RTÉ One

We join the many thousands of visitors to Ennis for Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann with presenters John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin. Included in this week's programme are a visit to the Fleadh's teaching wing, Scoil Éigse and music from the visiting Japanese Céilí Bands and the group Arum.

PROGRAMME 3 TX Date: 17/02/17 - 7.30pm RTÉ One

The annual Fleadh Cheoil, this year staged in Ennis, Co. Clare has become one of the largest music festivals in Europe. This week's programme features well known Japanese pair Mareka Naito and Junji Shirota, banjo player Kieran Hanrahan and Padraig King on box, and we look in at the Under 15 Fiddle Competition.

PROGRAMME 4 TX Date: 24/02/17- 7.30pm RTÉ One

More music and singing from Fleadh Cheoil in the company of John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin. Included in this weeks programme are, The Howley sisters from Clare, Sliabh Luachra musicians Matt Cranitch and Jackie Daly and The Senior Céilí Band Competition.

PROGRAMME 5 TX Date: 03/03/17 - 7.30pm RTÉ One

John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin mix with the thousands of musicians and followers at the Fleadh Cheoil in Ennis. Featured in this week's episode area young group called The Cavan Bucks, the legendary Clare concertina player Chris Droney and a session with Edel Fox, Neil Byrne and Sean Ó Fearghaill.

PROGRAMME 6 TX Date: 10/03/17 - 7.30pm RTÉ One

The final programme in the series from the Ennis Fleadh Cheoil features a young Kerry group called The Rising, we look in at the Scoil Éigse Tutors Concert and finish with The Senior All Ireland Céilí Band Champions, the Shandrum Céilí Band. The programme is presented by John Creedon and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin.