About RTÉ Television
Eurovision Dance 2008
Eurovision Dance Contest 2008RTÉ One, Saturday 6th September, 8.00pm

About The Show

Gavin O'Fearraigh and Dearbhla Lennon

Dearbhla Lennon and Gavin O'Fearraigh represent Ireland in the Eurovision Dance Contest

The 2nd Eurovision Dance Contest will be broadcast live from Glasgow, on Saturday, 6 September. Graham Norton and Claudia Winkleman will once again present this year's show.

Last September, in the inaugural year of the competition, Ireland, competing against fifteen other countries and represented by Celebrity Jigs and Reels winners Nicola Byrne and Mick Donnegan, came third in the competition held in London.

This year the EBU has decided that the each country will be will represented by a professional dancer partnered by a celebrity when the 14 couples take to the stage to represent their countries on the Saturday night.

They will each dancing a freestyle choreography inspired by the country they represent. In addition to being judged by a panel of experts in the arena, the European audience at home will cast their vote by tele-voting and text voting to determine this year's winner of the Grand Prix Dancing title.

Representing Ireland this year are Dearbhla Lennon and Gavin O'Fearraigh. The dancing duo were selected by public-vote to represent Ireland earlier this year on The Late Late Show. Dearbhla Lennon is a professional dancer who has had lead roles in Riverdance and Lord of Dance. Gavin O'Fearraigh is an actor from Donegal who is currently staring in TG4's popular drama Ros na Run, he plays the part of Conall Daly, a mischievous barman.

Dearbhla and Gavin won Celebrity Jigs & Reels in 2007 and will be performing a Paso Doble and Rumba with a Hard Shoe Irish Dance. 14 countries will be taking part including and they will be performing in the following order; Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Azerbaijan, Ireland, Finland, The Netherlands, Lithuania, United Kingdom, Russia, Greece, Portugal, Poland and Ukraine.

The winner of the second Eurovision Dance Contest will be chosen in true Eurovision style. Millions of Europeans from each of the 14 countries will be able to vote for their favorite dance act by phone or text.

Also, new this year an expert judging panel of International judges from non-participating countries shall act as jury in the show. After each performance each jury member shall award each performance a score out of 12. Voting lines will then open to the public once all 14 acts have finished performing.