Home News TV Listings Movies Oscars Music Video Photos Radio Book Club Life & Style


Nick Cave and Mumfords win Ivor Novello Awards

1 of 1 Nick Cave
Nick Cave

Nick Cave, Mumford and Sons and Nile Rogers were among the winners at The 2014 Ivor Novello Awards 2014 which were announced today (May 22) in London.

Cave and Warren Ellis of The Bad Seeds beat Arctic Monkeys and Laura Mvula to take to album of the year for Push The Sky Away

London Grammar won the Ivor Novello for Best Song Musically and Lyrically with their single, Strong.

James Blake won Best Contemporary Song for Retrograde and Fleetwood Mac keyboardist Christine McVie was awarded a Lifetime Achievement prize.

A tearful Nile Rodgers accepted the Ivor Novello Special International Award from fellow guitarist Johnny Marr.

Full list of 2014 Ivor Novello winners:

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Let Her Go - Passenger

The Ivors Classical Music Award

John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack

Ripper Street

Best Contemporary Song

Retrograde - James Blake

International Achievement

Mumford & Sons

Best Original Film Score

The Epic of Everest

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Jerry Dammers

Album Award

Push the Sky Away - Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Strong - London Grammar 

Songwriter of the Year

Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection

The Chemical Brothers

Lifetime Achievement

Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award

Nile Rodgers 

add your own comment
User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use