Home News TV Listings Movies Oscars Music Video Photos Radio Book Club Life & Style


Choice Music Prize Irish albums of 2013 announced

1 of 1 The Irish album of the year 2013 will be announced on February 27
The Irish album of the year 2013 will be announced on February 27

The bands and acts in contention for the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album Of The Year 2013 have been announced with ten Irish albums set to battle it out for the €10,000 prize and the prestige.

The list of nominees:

Little Green Cars Absolute Zero (Glassnote/Island)

My Bloody Valentine – mbv (Self Released)

KodalineIn A Perfect World (B-Unique/Sony)

And So I Watch You From Afar All Hail Bright Futures (Sargent House)

Villagers[Awayland] (Domino)

Lisa O'Neill - Same Cloth of Not (Song Seeds Records)

O Emperor Vitreous (Big Skin)

Girls Names - The New Life (Tough Love/Slumberland Records)

Bell X1 Chop Chop (Belly Up Records)

Mano Le Tough - Changing Days (Permanent Vacation)

Paddy Power have made My Bloody Valentine the 3/1 favourites and make it 9/2 for Villagers, 6/1 for Bell X1, 8/1 for Kodaline and 6/1 for Girls Names.

The winning album will be announced at the live event held in Vicar Street, Dublin on February 27 following the fraught deliberations of the judging panel. Tickets for the event go on sale from Ticketmaster on Friday, January 10 priced €23.50.

The shorlist for The Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song Of The Year 2013 has also been announced and public voting via Meteor’s page http://www.meteor.ie/music-prize-song/ commences soon.

Last year, Delorentos won the 2012 Album of the Year for Little Sparks and Gavin James scooped the Irish Song of the Year award.

Previous winners of the award, which is now in its ninth year, have also included The Divine Comedy, Adrian Crowley, Super Extra Bonus Party, Julie Feeney, Two Door Cinema Club and Jape, who won twice for 2008's Ritual and 2011's Ocean of Frequency.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize live event will be broadcast on Today FM in a special four-hour extended programme. RTÉ Two will broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Meteor Choice Music Prize on Sunday, March 2 at 10.30pm.

add your own comment
User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use